Skip to main content

Decibels Scholars Program

Decibels Scholar in Speech-Language Pathology at Emerson College

In 2008, the Foundation selected the first Decibels Scholar, Karissa Silva, a graduate student from the Speech Language Pathology Graduate Program in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders at Emerson College. Today, we are recognized and awarded over seventeen graduate students at Emerson College!

Since 2008, a Decibels Scholar has been selected annually to receive a scholarship along with hands-on training through placements at both the Thayer Lindsley Family-Centered Program for Deaf and Hard of Hearing Infants and Toddlers at Emerson College and the Minute Man Arc Early Intervention Hearing Loss Program in Concord, MA. Many Decibels Scholars have gone on to careers supporting children with hearing loss and their families throughout the country! Click here to see what our scholars are doing now!

Decibels Scholars:

2023: Katya Bakal-Schlomann

2022: (co-scholars) Julia Leary and Luli Coto
2021: Katie Conley
2020: Stephanie Parent
2019: Meghan Partlow
2018: Erika Hodlin
2017: Alison Baade
2016: Lisa Boldini
2015: Melissa Guevara
2014: Megan Evans
2013: Rhys McGovern
2012: Emily O’Sullivan
2011: Nicole Pitre
2010: Celina Marnie
2009: Arielle Blake
2008: Karissa Silva

Decibels Scholar in Audiology at Northeastern University

In the spring of 2015, the foundation expanded the Decibels Scholars Program to include the Doctor of Audiology program at Northeastern University. Heidi Bernknopf, our first Northeastern Decibels Scholar, was chosen for her strong desire to pursue a career in pediatric audiology. Through the support of the Decibels Foundation, she is pursued an externship at the Ear Institute at the New York Eye & Ear Infirmary of Mount Sinai.

In 2016, Ashley Andrew was awarded the Decibels Scholar of Audiology and was given a clinical placement at the Deaf and Hard of Hearing Program at Boston Children's Hospital.

The Decibels Scholar in Audiology at Northeastern University was discontinued in 2019 as the Doctor of Audiology program is no longer offered. 

Decibels Scholars:

2019: Kassandra Urena
2018: Maria Freitas
2017: Julianne Harris
2016: Ashley Andrew
2015: Heidi Bernknopf

  • The Caroline Bass Fund
    The Caroline Bass Fund
  • Klapinsky Family
  • CSANE-logo

Powered by Firespring