Skip to main content

Ellen Kurtzer-White Award

The Ellen Kurtzer-White Award was created in memory of Ellen, a former supervisor in the Thayer Lindsley Program at Emerson College, and is presented annually to a person who has made a significant difference in the treatment of young children who are deaf or hard of hearing.

Ellen Kurtzer-White was a pediatric audiologist whose work on behalf of children with hearing loss and their families included the Thayer Lindsley Parent-Centered Nursery at Emerson, early intervention services for newborns with hearing loss in Rhode Island, and authoring articles and books on young children with hearing loss. The award in her name is intended to recognize her remarkable contributions to the field.

On September 17, 2016, Megan Ford, Au.D. was honored with the 2016 Ellen Kurtzer-White Award for her tremendous dedication to children with hearing loss and their families. In 2007, Dr. Ford started the Hear My Dreams Support Group for parents and caregivers of children with hearing loss. For the past ten years she has brought together families from across Massachusetts to share their challenges, successes, and advice. She has worked at Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary in Boston, was the assistant director of the cochlear implant program at University Hospitals of Cleveland/Rainbow Babies and Childrens Hospital in Cleveland, Ohio, and a staff audiologist and the clinical coordinator of cochlear implants for the Sounds of Life Cochlear Implant Program at UMass Memorial Medical Center in Worcester, Massachusetts. She is currently in private practice in Littleton, MA at HearSmart Audiology. 

Megan Ford, Au.D. receiving the 2016 Ellen Kurtzer-White Award from Brad Austin, Decibels Foundation President.

Ellen Kurtzer-White Award Recipients:

2022: Marty Lapointe-Malchik, M.E.D.
2019: Janice Gatty, Ed.M., M.E.D., Ed.D
2018: Kym Meyer, M.S., CCC-A
2017: Janet Farrell
2016: Megan Ford, Au.D.
2015: Tracy Evans Luiselli, Ed.D.
2014: Gale Ann Merle
2013: Dr. Curtis Bates
2012: Ann Gleason
2010: Lauren Aron
2009: Dr. Marilyn Neault
2008: Julie Goldberg
2007: Dr. Honore Weiner

  • The Caroline Bass Fund
    The Caroline Bass Fund

Powered by Firespring